Ruby on Rails

An interview with David Heinemeier Hansson on O’Reilly Network.
He was happy both with PHP and J2EE. Then, with the influence of the Pragmatic Programmers (books editor) and Martin Fowler (OOP, XP, Architect), he turns to Ruby (“Programmers’ Best Friend”) to create a reusable framework : Ruby on Rails.

I set out to serve me. Rails is a very selfish project in that respect. It gained a lot of its focus and appeal because I didn’t try to please people who didn’t share my problems.

I read somewhere that the Ruby community was really pleasant too, but I guess that is only because it is new and little.
If I had time, I would give it a try or read a book, just like Bernard Notarianni prizes Agile Web Development with Rails (a Pragmatic Programmer’s book …) in this article because :

It will show you the direction you have to follow for the next few years.

The problem is that there is so much to know in Java, so few time and few jobs …

Leave a Reply

