Fedora FC5 Grub problems

I am installing Fedora Core 5 on my MSI K8NGM2-FID. I run into some problems I would like to share. (I used LILO before, it is much easier, but you have to evolve.)

I have a PATA and a SATA drive. I wanted to boot on the SATA.
The whole problem with GRUB (v0.97) is that it doesn’t guess the correct value !
I tried to use the utilities : grub-install or even the setup command of the grub shell, but neither works !!
First : it doesn’t find the right BIOS disk number.
Second : it doesn’t see that /boot has its own partition.

So you better do it yourself : use the install command :

  • Modify your device.map with the right BIOS values.
  • Modify your grub.conf to use (hd0,0) and a /boot partition. It is generally the case.
  • Enter the grub shell with
    grub --device-map=/boot/grub/device.map
    and type :
    root (hd0,0)
    install (hd0,0)/grub/stage1 (hd0) (hd0,0)/grub/stage2 p /grub/grub.conf

One good point with GRUB, is that even in case of problems, as long as it has loaded stage1, you get a shell where you can type the command necessary to boot your system.

Leave a Reply

