JPA, Hibernate, EJB3 and TopLink quick diagram

I searched some UML diagram on JPA, Hibernate, toplink, openJPA and EJB3 to get a quick understanding on how they are related to each other. I think that I have a good understanding now, but I found some confusing comparisons along the way.

The best I have found so far is : Java Persistence, implementations, and Java EE servers.

So I bring my own here, take it as a work in progress, open to criticisms : JPA UML Diagram

Note : I used UMLet and examples.

I think that I will add the servers deployment view.

So here is the version 2, a bit more cluttered :jpa1.jpg

2 Responses to JPA, Hibernate, EJB3 and TopLink quick diagram

  1. Ian says:

    That’s about right. The only thing I would point out is that the pluggable JPA provider could be the default provider included with the app server, or it could be bundled with your app.

  2. Bruno Vernay says:

    I updated my diagram, does it make more sense ? I always fear to misuse UML.
    Is it right to represent an EAR and a Java EE server as “package” in the sense that they “package” some components ? Or should I represent Glassfish only as a Node ?

Leave a Reply

